Our Firsts and Lasts

It was recently announced that this year’s eighth Jade Ribbon Youth Council will be the last as it will evolve into our first Team HBV High School Chapters National Advisory Board. Four of our current JRYC members, Honora, Jimmy, Stefanie, and Pearl, will serve on this board as well as a few other students. This being my second and last year before heading off to college, I am sad to leave. I’ve grown exponentially from being on this council. However, I am confident that my fellow JRYC members will lead the high school chapters to incredible heights and am anxious to see this board’s future success. On this bittersweet note, I will update you on what the JRYC has planned for its last year.

Introducing the first Team HBV Freeze Mob! We will be freezing for 5 minutes at the Asian Heritage Street Celebration in San Francisco’s Little Saigon on Saturday, May 21st. I don’t believe a better location exists. After passersby have been captivated by our awesome freezing abilities, we will direct them to nearby hepatitis B screening booths. Did I mention that there will be video cameras? Well, we’re hoping this will become a YouTube sensation. For this to become a success, we are currently recruiting 250 students from San Francisco, Team HBV high school chapters, collegiate chapters, and other clubs to freeze with us. Interested? Visit our facebook event page for updated information and  sign up here by April 30th. By the way, applications for the 9th Youth Leadership Conference on API Health are also being accepted. I as well as many of the JRYC will be assistant team leaders, so please attend!

Before I end this entry, I thought I would share how I came to be a part of JRYC. I was introduced to this cause at the 7th YLC. There, I met Patrick, the Wang brothers, Hamin, and all the old JRYC members who were assistant team leaders. Seeing them in their green shirts leading other high school students (some older than they), I admired their leadership and maturity. I thought, “I want to be standing where they’re standing.” They were so inspiring that I felt it would be an honor to be on the same council as them. When I read the email from Amy saying I was accepted, I was in the library with my laptop. The only thing that kept me from screaming was the hand clamped over my mouth. (Not sure if this is a good thing, but it was actually more exciting than most of my college acceptances.)

To put it bluntly, many students join councils to list them as another activity on their college applications. For me, what makes JRYC different from another extracurricular activity is continuity. Although my experience on JRYC will soon end, my involvement in hepatitis B awareness is merely beginning. You’ll see me at my college’s Team HBV chapter, YLC’s, screenings, and wherever there is still a person at risk for HBV.

Cindy Lam

Aragon/CSM Middle College ‘11

Leave a Reply

