Caroling in Union Square

Today marked the advent of the first ever Jade Ribbon Youth Council Caroling Outreach Event at Union Square in the decked-out city of San Francisco. Donning the vibrant, green Team HBV shirts, the JRYC, under the leadership of ALC intern Dylan Kim, caroled away the afternoon. Singing classic songs such as “Frosty the Snowman” and “Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer,” we made sure to wish our spectators “A merry Christmas and a Hep B free year!” But, of course, it wasn’t all about the singing. I mean, we do have a cause. After a quick recap of the perfect elevator pitch, we split into two groups – the caroling group and the elevator-pitching group, with council members alternating between groups as the afternoon progressed. Ultimately, the caroling attracted quite a few people, and I, personally, was able to “pitch” to around ten families.

But the outreach didn’t end there. I guess there is much credence to the statement that things happen when you least expect it. For example, after our caroling, we went to dinner at the food court in the Westfield Shopping Mall. While I was placing my order at the savvy Bistro Burger, the cashier, spotting the Team HBV across my chest, casually asked me about Hep B. (Time for an elevator pitch). And when we were heading home on BART, a man, seeing all of our HBV shirts, also inquired about the Hepatitis B virus. Needless to say, we were all prepared to answer.

And lastly, to me, this outreach was as much about Hepatitis B as it was about the JRYC, and by that I mean the first thing Nicole told us at our first JRYC meeting – team bonding. Riding on a train, trudging through San Francisco, singing in Union Square, eating dinner together, how could we not bond? And so to conclude, I can merrily say that the JRYC emerged from this outreach as one stronger, more cohesive council.

Happy Holidays,

Jay Wang

Archbishop Mitty High School

3 Responses

  1. Great summary, Jay. We should take BART again =] and Merry Christmas!

  2. It must have been a really great experience!

  3. OH. MY. GOODNESS. THIS SOUNDS LIKE IT WAS A HUGE SUCCESS! I AM SOOO HAPPY RIGHT NOW y’all just made my night! 10 families for just you, Jay?! AND the cashier!? AND the man on the bart?! That’s soooo wonderful you guys! I am soooo proud of y’all and I’m so happy you got to share your wonderful energy, enthusiasm, and knowledge to so many people this holiday season!!!!! AND I’m so happy that you all had some good ol’ bonding time! how. cute. =]]] I can’t wait for more details and to hear y’alls fabulous elevator pitches when we get back!!!! LOVE YOU GUYS!!!! and happy new year!

    -Mindy

Leave a Reply

